Requirementrs to develop games

Started by
7 comments, last by kimi 17 years, 10 months ago
Hi, can you all tell me what are the requirements to make games. I know C++ but I don't think, I know advance level to make games. I am still learning and going through Jwalsh C++ workshop. What am I supposed to know before I can make games[help]. Also some tools but I think I can find it in begineers section, there is a thread by Furny. But please mention here as well for newbies to use. My aim is to make a 2D game before 2nd week of december. Any simple game. I would love to make a 3D game but atleast I want to start and have a realistic chance of making them. I also know little bit of data structures. Any help will be great[smile] P.s I am sorry if this is been asked before.
Advertisement
Moving to For Beginners.
Now that Ravuya has pointed you over to the right forum, you might want to check out the resources link at the top of this site and peruse through some of those articles. Not only has this question been asked, but it has been thousands of times. Run a search for tutorials.
laziness is the foundation of efficiency | www.AdrianWalker.info | Adventures in Game Production | @zer0wolf - Twitter
Ok. I wants to know. Those who have made some simple games. How did you all start. How long it took and what program you all wrote before you were able to make games.
I would recommend checking out the "For Beginners" forum FAQ.

Here

The links provided should give you a good idea of what you need to develop games. I would also recommend posting further questions in the "For Beginners" forum, as "Help Wanted" is meant more for personnel help rather than to answer questions.