borland direct x

Started by
2 comments, last by Aardvajk 17 years, 8 months ago
hi, how can I use direct3d with borland c++ 5.0 can i get a converter .lib file from microsoft to borland gettin a omf .lib error message when linking d3d9.lib from directx sdk 9.0
Advertisement
Hey.

You can use implib on the DLLs to create Borland libs, but you won't be able to use the d3dx stuff like that since that is a statically linked lib that Microsoft no longer distribute in a Borland compatible form.

If you go here that will provide links to some Direct3D 8 Borland libs. The trouble is that you then need to distribute a DLL wrapper with your software that bridges between the d3dx stuff and Borland correctly.

It is a lot easier to just download Visual Studio Express 2005 to be honest, and I speak from long bitter experience here. Getting DirectX 9 to work with Borland is even harder.

Post back or PM me if you get stuck.

Paul
cheers paul,

I am new to direct3d, have borland 5.0 and have spent the last couple of days
trying to get them linked.

where will i get Visual Studio Express 2005 please mate?
Visual C++ Express 2005 is here.

The platform SDK, which you need to create Windows apps including DirectX apps is here. The instructions for installing and setting up are superb on this link but do need to be followed carefully.

The DirectX SDK (latest version) is here. I haven't installed the August yet, but having installed VS2005 and the PSDK, the June DX SDK seemed to integrate with VS2005 automatically. If it doesn't, what you learn from installing the Platform SDK should point you in the right direction.

Some of these are very big downloads so if you can't get them and decide to stick with Borland, you can get it all to work.