[web] SQL and indirection

Started by
8 comments, last by tstrimp 17 years, 7 months ago
Is it possible to use indirection for choosing tables in SQL queries (MySQL specifically). I want to be able to determine what table I want to access based on values in another table. Though as I'm writing this it occurs to me that perhaps instead of creating a new table, I should merge the tables and add a column defining the specific type that the sub table would contain. I'm still curious about my question either way...
- My $0.02
Advertisement
Philosophical answer: Generally, if the data in 2 tables is interchangeable, that data should be in 1 table. So you shouldn't want to do this.

Practically though, I don't think what you want is possible in pure SQL. (Though I am not an expert.)
I don't know of any clean way to do it in SQL. As the parent pointed out, generally if your data is that identical it should be in the same table (with a field and index partitioning it as needed). You could do it with a switch or if statement in SQL (I don't know if MySQL's subset of SQL includes that), but it will get ugly fast even in a stored procedure (not sure if MySQL supports those, either - I'm a PostgreSQL kinda guy).
Basically what I'm doing is an inheritance type of approach where there is one table with all common data so all objects can be searched at once, then sub tables for more specific information. I think my problem was that when I had situations where I wasn't sure which sub table needed to be used, my architecture was bad.
- My $0.02
The best thing is to either use just one whole table, or two subtables.