Probably been asked before.....

Started by
2 comments, last by M2tM 17 years, 6 months ago
Ok All, I'm new to this forum, but not new to this site; I've frequented here before but it's proabably been 3 to 4 years ago. Ok, I want to know "where to begin." First, I'll tell you a little bit about myslef and what I want to do. I'm an electrical engineer who's been professionaly unemployed now for a about 4 years (got really burned out). I've always enjoyed programming even in the days of my Commodore 64. What? Yes, my Commodore 64. I learned basic inside and out on it and probably sideways and even learned machine language - which I really liked. As time went on I learned C while taking a course at a community college on my own - I did a lot of study on it outside of class. The following year, I took another couple of courses that reintroduced me to C and then followed up with C++. This was around 1995 still in the early days of Windows 95. As time went on, I never did develop any apps beyond the programs I did for those courses in DOS. Then came my job around 1997, 1998 where I did some Windows apps in the console window - not very exciting. We had regular Windows app code developed then in C, which I could make minor changes to but didn't have a clue where to learn how to devlope full-fledged Windows apps in C at that time. Well, after I had become layed off, and I took a slight interest in developing Windows apps, I came accross Joseph Farrell's Game Genesis tutorial and they were very excellent. Is he still around? Did he write a book? Well, he certainly should have if not. Being disappointed that the tutorial ended, I researched and found a highly recommended resource, Programming Windows 5th Edition by Charles Petzold - also recommended here. However, my windows programming endevour ended..... So, what I want to do now is learn how to build Windows apps. Probably simple to medium type complexity applications. The specific application I have in mind is somthing th