Can someone please get me started

Started by
3 comments, last by TheAdmiral 17 years, 5 months ago
Hi, im a beginner C++ prgrammer. I know how to use pointers, arrays, all variables, construct classes, and functions, etc... But i have never figured out how to throw graphics, or draw graphics on the screen. I was told to go to libsdl.org and get a dev pack. So i went there and got the Amaltheia library for C++, but had problems linking the headers, and etc... All I want to accomplish today is throw graphics on a screen. Can anyone please help me. Im using Dev C++ 5.0 (beta edition) from bloodshed.net If ya need anymore information i'll give it. thanks, c.s. finch
Advertisement
Here is a link that has not only instructions to setup SDL ( which is one of many graphical API options, but the one I know best ) but also how to use it.

Direct link to dev-cpp setup instructions.

If you find you are having problems, please post the errors your compiler gives you. We cannot help you if we don't know what your problem actually is.
Allegro and SDL are probably the most common API choices. It seems you have already installed SDL though and an IDE as well. In order to create a window with a graphic like you want, all you have to do is add this code in a empty console project where you specify -lSDLmain and -lSDL as linker parameters in project->options.