Game Console SDKs?

Started by
7 comments, last by BrianL 17 years, 2 months ago
Hello, I'm an indie game developer, and I would like to get my hands on recent consoles, PS3 or XBox360. I'm not going to sue the XNA since it's C#y thingy. I want the real SDKs commercial developers use, any chance? How much does that cost? Thanks. [Edited by - LessBread on January 10, 2007 11:46:59 PM]
Advertisement
Quote:Original post by eSam
I want the real SDKs commercial developers use, any chance? How much does that cost?

If you have multiple game credits already, and you have a team of experienced people, and you have created your own game development company, and you either have a successfully pitched game or an already developed title for porting, then you have a chance at getting a contract that will include the terms of a publishing deal that will get you the SDKs and devkits.

Otherwise, there is zero chance of legally getting them.

But don't worry. You don't need to have experience on them to get in to the industry. Just knowing how to write games on the PC is more than enough.
You get them only by having a developed business relationship with Sony or Microsoft. The devkits will cost you ~$10,000 each, and you'll only get them & the "SDK" if you have an established team (i.e. the majority of your team has already shipped mass market console games).

Basically, what you want to do is contact Sony or Miscrosoft's "Developer Relations" office and start the business negotiations.

If you're a hobby developer and have never published a game, don't bother. They'll just hang up on you.

As a hobbyist, your only next-gen console option is XNA. Sony has no publicly available "SDK" for PS3.

-me
Hey there,