[java] Very simple rendering loop?

Started by
5 comments, last by d000hg 17 years, 3 months ago
I'm new to Java and while I have some resources, I don't at the moment have time to investigate properly what all these Applets and JFrames and stuff do. All I want to do is get a quick & dirty application which runs a classic render-loop like this:
while(notOver())
{
 Update();
 Repaint();
}
I am happy to mangle my way through painting stuff to the screen, but it's getting the skeleton app together where I'm confused. If it can be done in just a few lines I'd welcome an example, otherwise a link to a very simple tutorial - I just want a window which gets repainted in a loop. Later I'll want to do it on a timer but for now just a flat-out while() loop is fine. Thankyou for any suggestions.
Advertisement
The Java tutorials has a section on this in the part about Full-Screen Exclusive Mode. It's here, http://java.sun.com/docs/books/tutorial ( sorry, don't know how to make it link )

Otherwise, I would avoid using repaint(), if by that you mean you're forcing a paint message into the event queue, to eventually call the Applet/Frame's paint method, especially if you eventually set your loop up on a timer. If you're using it that way, you don't get a consistent framerate, because repaint() doesn't automatically call paint.

Of course, if you have a function Repaint() [ with capital R ], then you would have to have setIgnoreRepaint( true ) somewhere in your constructor or initialization code, because the Repaint() function would have something like this

Graphics g = getGraphics();
// drawing code
g.dispose()

and if your window decides it should be repainted at the same time your calling your Repaint() function, you'd have thread-lock
Eric Richards
I think I found something: