3d World Editor Tool

Started by
6 comments, last by soconne 17 years, 2 months ago
I may be in the completely wrong forum for this, if I am, by all means move this thread, and accept my appologies. Over the summer, myself and two friends are planning on creating a simple 3d RPG. I am a programmer, and one friend is an art student who can make 3D models. Our third friend is going to be our level designer. We are looking for a good tool to create 3D terrain/worlds (ones that can be used in directX). After doing some searching on the internet, we found this. http://www.freeworld3d.org/ It looks like a good tool. It sounds like it is easy enough to use (although some learning curve is to be expected). Has anyone used Freeworld, and if so what were your thoughts on it. Has anyone used anything else for designing 3D maps that they thought was better? A lot of people have said to "write your own" but, we only have about 3 months before returning to school, and I am the only programmer, so I would much rather use a pre-existing tool. What we are looking for is something easy to use for someone who DOESN'T program, that can create decent 3D maps which can be imported into a directX game. Thanks in advance for any recommendations, or opinions about Freeworld. David Thompson
Advertisement
Sounds pretty good for 30 bucks. Do they have code samples for displaying their data in a DirectX program (that would speed up your project..) 3 months isnt much time and you would probably spend alot of it just getting your own homegrown editor working. Its just a matter of what form all their non standard data (triggers etc..) is and whether they help you by having import code to shortcut your engine implimentation (though that shouldnt be too bad since the .X standard was designed for extensions and thus its more a matter of how good the Freeworld3D documentation is).
--------------------------------------------[size="1"]Ratings are Opinion, not Fact