Starting out, choosing tools and extensions.

Started by
3 comments, last by The_Marlboro_Man 17 years, 1 month ago
Hello: This is the very first time that I visit a game developer´s site and also the very first time I start into game developing... A bit late for my age, but well, I´m doing what I can. Enough of an introduction though. Just yesterday I learned of the existance of SDL after struggling around with DEV C++ for a while and I saw it as an excellent opportunity to start on simple game developing. As happens with every beginning, I am full of doubts but so far I have two that are particularly itching: -Is SDL an adequate tool to start doing some 2D game programming?. I have little experience with C++ environments but I am willing to learn. I just want to know if my tools are up for the job. -I got SDL because of the obvious (video, event and sound capabilities) but I am confused at it: I thought that a SDL package had everything I needed on it but now I see that, for example, I have to download SDL_IMAGE (along with many other things for different image formats) to work with image files and such (essential even for creating a Tetris clone... Isn´t it?). My question here is: is there any package including "everything"?. I guess it will be much easier to start off. Thanks in advance for any useful reply. Wish me a pleasant stay in the forums and in game development! :).
Advertisement
http://lazyfoo.net/SDL_tutorials/index.php

these tutorials should get you started on SDL
OpenGL fanboy.
Not exactly what I asked but something I would ask for later, so advanced thanks :). Already bookmarked, leave me a few days to read trough this and maybe I will ask more interesting questions.

Again, thanks.
Quote:Original post by The_Marlboro_Man
-Is SDL an adequate tool to start doing some 2D game programming?.