Game Name same as Movie Name

Started by
18 comments, last by CandleJack 17 years ago
Quote:Original post by Bovine13
I don't have a lawyer, and as I'm a college student, I can't afford one.
If I were to change it to ... "FireLight: The Savior" (that's just an example). Would I be in any possible trouble still?

That's a question you need to ask a lawyer. If you can't afford a lawyer, you may not be ready to enter the minefield of the game industry as a publisher. Can you afford a book on trademark and copyright? Recommend Nolo Press.

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

Advertisement
As others have pointed out, either your project is not worth getting a lawyer for, in which case you're not likely to each reach a point when a lawsuit would be something to worry about. Or it is a very serious project in which case the price of a lawyer will be negligible.
Best regards, Omid
Thanks everyone. I'm going to change the name, just to be safe.
What about if you change the spelling? I have a project that also has the same name as a movie, but my game name is spelt differently, is this OK?

[Edited by - PowerPython on March 29, 2007 2:26:40 AM]
Quote:Original post by PowerPython
What about if you change the spelling? i have a project that also has the same name as a movie, but my game name is spelt differently, is this OK?

Exactly the same thing applies.

What does your lawyer say?
Legal issues are cheaper before troubles than after. If you don't have the money now, do you think you'll have even more money later?
Are you willing to risk the huge cost of a lawsuit?
Are you willing to risk the cost to change your name later?
Are you willing to abandon your project completely rather than face the prospect of a law suit?

It's a business risk, and it depends on your tolerance. Without talking with a lawyer, you can't fully understand what the risks are. Personally I would not take that risk.