64bit color and directx

Started by
6 comments, last by MadHaTr 16 years, 11 months ago
Okay so i'm new to dx and still learning but I discovered that i can make a 64bit fullscreen window rather than a 32bit one with this "D3DFMT_A16B16G16R16" I put it in here void initD3D(HWND hWnd) { d3d = Direct3DCreate9(D3D_SDK_VERSION); // Create the DIIRECT3D interface D3DPRESENT_PARAMETERS d3dpp; // Create a struct to hold various device information ZeroMemory(&d3dpp, sizeof(d3dpp)); // clear out the struct for use d3dpp.Windowed = FALSE; // program windowed not full screen d3dpp.SwapEffect = D3DSWAPEFFECT_DISCARD; // Discard old frames d3dpp.hDeviceWindow = hWnd; // set the window be used by direct3D d3dpp.BackBufferFormat = D3DFMT_A16B16G16R16; // set the back buffer format to 32 bit !!!!RIGHT HERE!!!! d3dpp.BackBufferWidth = SCREEN_WIDTH; // sets our back buffers screen width d3dpp.BackBufferHeight = SCREEN_HEIGHT; // Sets our back buffers screen height // create a device class d3d->CreateDevice( D3DADAPTER_DEFAULT, D3DDEVTYPE_HAL, hWnd, D3DCREATE_SOFTWARE_VERTEXPROCESSING, &d3dpp, &d3ddev); return; } Now I get a runtime error. Is 64bit only for dx10 cards. i have vista(x64) i read vista supports 64bit color so is it my dx9 card. thanks in advance, will post more info if needed
Advertisement
The format enum contains many different format types. Some can be used as backbuffers, and some can't.

If you're curios which ones you can use, you can check the caps viewer for a complete list.

Most likely, your graphics card supports creating textures of 64bit formats, but not using them as backbuffers.

Most importantly, however, is why exactly you'd want to use 64 bit color? Your monitor doesn't support it anyways...
Sirob Yes.» - status: Work-O-Rama.
They easiest way to see what formats are supported for what purposes on your card is using the DX caps viewer which comes with the SDK.