Shader Issue

Started by
1 comment, last by lok11 16 years, 11 months ago
I'm working on a particle system for a game and am having trouble getting the particles to draw. I'm rather new to DirectX and game programming in general so I have a limited knowledge on this stuff. My question is whether or not shaders play nice with the fixed-function pipeline? The majority of this game is written using fixed-function and FVF codes. I'm following an example from a book that uses shaders exclusively, so I'm curious if some shortcuts were taken in the code that will not work when the use of pre-transformed vertices is present. Sorry if I didn't provide a lot of information but mainly I'm wondering if I can use shaders with fixed-function? Thanks!
Advertisement
Shaders (DX Effects) play nice with the FFP. However, pre-transformed vertices skip a lot of the rasterisation process which would explain why you're having difficulties with your shaders.

Can you give more details on what you're trying to do?
Well, I have several basic things going right now. To give some examples, I'm drawing some terrain, I have placed a few models on top of it, I have lighting working, and a camera that can be rotated around a given position. This is all done using the FFP.

Now I'm working on a particle system. As I said I'm working from an example out of a book. The book I'm using can be found here http://www.amazon.com/Introduction-Game-Programming-Direct-9-0c/dp/1598220160

He uses shaders exclusively in his examples. He provides source code but I built mine from the ground up using his code as merely a guide so I could be sure it would fit in my project (not to mention, so that I could understand how to manipulate it better).

When I run the app I will setup the graphics, at which stage I create a pointer to the vertex declaration.