newbie to design.

Started by
5 comments, last by Vorpy 16 years, 11 months ago
I'm totally new to design and I can only begin to guess the different ways to do design documentation. I've spent years coding small and useful apps and now I'm doing my first big project. My particular troubles comes from the fact that I've done my first very large software program(15,000 thousand custom coded lines and growing), and it's becoming unmanageable. I've talked to some friends for help, and they've told me to write a design and code documentation, and after some research I've become a total advocate of code and design documentation. I have doxygen set up and everything commented, and I've begun writing the design documentation for what I've coded and what needs to be done to finish this large project of mine. I'm doing the design documentation in dreamweaver, and using php/mysql to help automate parts of the documentation such as a dev journal and task lists with varying priorities. My design documentation for what I've already coded is in present/past tense, but the documentation for what needs to be done is in future tense. This seems really weird. How should I be writing this design document ion? Should I just give direction on how some concept should be implemented, and try to be time neutral? And as I go on in this project, there will be a few more modules that I need to design and code to solve my software requirements, just because I don't have the current architectural skill to do a completely top-down design. There are many things i honestly can't foresee as i'm still inexperienced in game programming. So my question is, "Is it wrong to have an evolving design documentation?". I'm making absolutely sure to add no more features to game, but sometimes I realize I need to add a whole new module to help supplement my intended solution to one of the features. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.. It's been troubling as I've spent the last week catching up on design a