Developing A Game

Started by
22 comments, last by kaidiez 16 years, 11 months ago
Hi, I'm new to the forums so hopefully im doing all my posting right ;) Ive just finished a Uni degree in games development (imo the title is ironic..) But feel like i dont know have enough experience or knowledge to create a game (but this may prove to be wrong). I have basic knowledge i.e. OOP, how to design a program etc (software process models etc). So anyway, as ive finished my course i feel i should have something to show for it and want to build up a portfolio. I would like to make a game, was thinking along the lines of a pokemon game - well the style of it anyway, rpg, random fights, leveling, clean and clear gui etc (but i dont want to make a pokemon game ive got a storyline planned etc). But atm im stumped on how to begin, should i jump straight into designing the gui and build up the game around that? start with something else and work up to the full fledged game? are there any tips more experienced coders could give me or tutorials they think i should be reading? I'm not expecting to find all the answers here and leech of others knowledge and am currently reading as much as i can in the meantime but theres a wealth of knowledge out there. Hopefully my post makes sense and my random thought process isnt too hard to read lol Thanx
I'm sorry your witty comment could not be loaded.
Advertisement
A very bad way to start game development is to set a huge target straight away. You will get bored pretty quick. Start by building up a small game. (Could be a small RPG). Read some articles on tile engines and such. Then decide on an API to use. I recommend SDL. (www.libsdl.org). Find some other developers who like you`re ideas. From that position you can go onto make a fully fledged RPG.

Ive made the mistake in the past of looking to make somthing very big and losing intrest fast.

Good Luck.
Game Development Tutorials, a few good game development tutorials located on my site.