Game using .NET 2.0 and DX9 doesn't run

Started by
4 comments, last by cwc 16 years, 11 months ago
First post! If this topic doesn't quite fit this forum, I apologize. :D So I'm new to programming with DirectX, and this is my first app. It's just a really simple C# DirectDraw app that draws some sprites bouncing around the window. Naturally, it runs fine on my dev machine, but I haven't been able to get it to run on my test computer. Immediately upon launching the program, an unhandled exception is encountered (System.Io.FileNotFoundException). I initially assumed it wasn't finding the audio and image files (one of each) that are loaded, so I wrote appropriate error-handling to catch the exception, show a MessageBox, and continue gracefully. Yet the error persists. All I can think of at this point is that some key library is missing on the test pc. I've double-checked that .NET 2.0 is installed (and I'm specifically building for 2.0 in SharpDevelop) as well as DirectX 9.0c. Anyone have any ideas?
Advertisement
Is managed directx installed? Are the directx runtimes that it depends on installed? (You haven't specifically said you're using mdx, but I'm assuming you are).

Remember that there's many different versions of the direct3dx library. The one that your version of mdx uses may not be installed. You need to figure out which of the redistributables that come with your SDK you need, and install them on the test machine.

Just having directx installed doesn't ensure that this other stuff is installed. You need to include a redistributable with your app.

edit- any time you ask about an error, you should post the COMPLETE error, copy and paste it right from the IDE. There should be more info than just the name of the exception.
Quote:Original post by gharen2
Is managed directx installed? Are the directx runtimes that it depends on installed? (You haven't specifically said you're using mdx, but I'm assuming you are).