allowing for instancing and lod

Started by
-1 comments, last by psykr 16 years, 9 months ago
Please read a brief description about my engine design so far, and help me figure out how to (elegantly) add LOD and instancing! I just started learning about shaders (pixel and vertex shaders, just general concepts) and how to add them into my engine, so please correct me if I get anything horrendously wrong. I intend to support the fixed function pipeline as much as possible, so that may influence some of my design decisions. Also, I am working with C++ / Direct3D 9 not-for-Vista, but I hope to make my code clean enough to be able to port it to Linux / OpenGL in the near future. That is, I would prefer an API-independent way of doing things, but if I need the API I will use it. Engine Design The basic unit in my engine is called a geometry chunk. It supplies information about vertex layout (like a Direct3D vertex declaration) and also the actual vertex data. It's designed to be as general as possible, from loading raw data directly from file to procedurally generating vertex data when it needs to be uploaded to video memory. During each frame, I traverse the scene graph and try to cache objects that will probably be rendered. Then I would perform texture/shader/state sorting, followed by a second pass through all the geometry to actually render it. If data was not cached in the initial traversal, it has to be uploaded during the second pass before the geometry is rendered.
  1. A video memory manager I am thinking of managing video memory as arbitrary data: let a geometry chunk upload any data it wants to because it will be responsible for making sure the vertex shader knows how to interpret it. It seems like Direct3D doesn't care what is in the buffers as long as you know how to interpret the data in your shaders. But video memory is very different than any memory manager (I've) ever written because: