Need help with game physics and collisions in 2d.

Started by
1 comment, last by cybercoward 16 years, 8 months ago
I am very new to game programming only been experimenting off and on for a few months now. I am trying to make a game similar in engine to Megaman X. My problem is that I want to use acceleration to give different velocities instead of having a constant velocity while jumping. I have a problem described in the Gravity Faq in the resources of the site and am wondering if I will have to use some kind of line intersection or something. Right now I am using 2 collision tests bounding box style to detect if x or y velocity added to position will collide with a tile. I am using a system right now that will check to see if the surrounding 1 or 2 tiles are colliding in the box with a formula that checks to see if distance from box centers are less than distance of half box 1 height plus half box 2 height. This is basically it: test1 = (h1+h2)^2 test2 = (d1-d2)^2 if test1>test2 then collision = 1 where h1 and h2 are half width/height of box 1 or 2 and d1 and d2 are the distances from the center points of the boxes. I squared both sides of the test to make sure that d1-d2 wouldn't come out negative as I only need its magnitude. I do 2 tests one for y where I sent player y position + player y velocity as function arguments and one for the x, but the problem I get is only with y velocity. As I said it is described in the Gravity Faq. Right now I hit jump and he jumps until hitting the ceiling then falls and keeps falling through the floor to my lower limit of tile map. I am thinking maybe I can extend the value of the y test to include tiles that are player position + velocity distance away instead of just next 1 or 2 tiles to try and fix the problem. I think this will work but I was just wondering if anyone else has had the problem while learning game programming and if anyone had a better solution. I also have a few doubts about it working because maybe if I had