LUA techniques

Started by
2 comments, last by jdierckx 16 years, 2 months ago
Hi, as a virtual environment researcher, I have done some tests with LUA scripting (using luabind for the bindings to our engine) to implement the logic of our virtual worlds. I am now at the point that we need more advanced functionality to cope with more complex worlds. I would appreciate it if someone could help us with one of the following questions: - We use a lot of factory classes to instantiate certain types of objects. Classes handling these objects can cast to their specific type to do specific stuff. How is this best handled in LUA/luabind? In (pseudo-) C++ for example, we do

MyObject *pObject = (MyObject *) ObjectManager::createObject("MyObject");
pObject->doSpecificStuff();
I want to be able to do the object-type-specific functions in LUA too, so I need casting or a way to add functionality to LUA objects at runtime. Is either one possible? Or should I start thinking in a whole different way? - I want to have scripts that belong to a certain object. A zone trigger object for example, should have a script with a onCreated and onDestroyed function (common for all objects) and a onEntered, onInside and onLeft functions (specific for trigger objects). The problem is that I don't find a way to keep the function names local to a script. Should all objects have their own namespace? Should the functions be in a LUA table and added to some event manager? Thanks already! Greetz, JeDi
Advertisement
It's Lua not LUA.
I'm left puzzled as to where this "LUA" came from; it would be like everyone saying PYTHON suddenly....

Anyways;

1) This is pretty simple really;
- expose the class to Lua via LuaBind (see docs)
- create an instance of that object
- call instance:doSpecificStuff()

You won't even have to cast as things should just resolve themselves.. probably.