Compiler for linux?

Started by
33 comments, last by Yann L 16 years, 2 months ago
Quote:Original post by Chrono1081
Quote:Original post by Cromulent
Thank you guys for the responses :D I don't understand why the linux forum I was on couldn't answer me that :P (Im new to linux so I dont know much)

I think it was because you asked the wrong question :). You are not looking for a compiler (as your thread title suggests) but an IDE. The two things do not necessarily have to be linked together in the same way as Visual Studio is. The fact that Linux has a compiler already available in every distribution probably provoked a few people to post less than helpful answers.

True, I always accidentally call an IDE a compiler. I'm just finding that linux is really hard to use. All of the "sudo apt-get" commands I try fail, any install I try fails. I have to be doing something wrong but its hard to find out what exactly. (Im stubborn though so ill probably bat around with it for a few months to figure it out)

Try a more 'user-friendly' Linux such as Ubuntu and openSUSE which will allow you to avoid a terminal like the plague, also when openSUSE big bad bill promesses he will not sue you... Really, he said that.. The thing about linux is that there are hundreds of distros some better maintained then others and most looking for a small nitch of users.. And the simple fact that your install fails points out that most likly your distro is ment for somone with more experiance or isn't maintained right.

And about vode::blocks taking so long to install.. It can be cut down to the following once you get its dependacys installed..

#! /bin/bashsvn checkout svn://svn.berlios.de/codeblocks/trunkcd trunk./configure --with-contrib-plugins=allmakesudo make install

Just make a file called update.sh put that in there and you can just run it by first doing 'chmod 700 update.sh' and every time after you just need to run ./update.sh..
Advertisement
Quote:Original post by Yann L