Python Capabilities

Started by
15 comments, last by ExtraNoise 16 years, 1 month ago
I've just started using Python and am interested in creating a side-scrolling MMO. I'm still pretty new to programming, with only experience in web development, but I'm going through a number of tutorials and feel I'm doing well so far. I know an MMO is a fairly large-scale project. Is this something Python can handle? I'm happy to see that Python works well with MySQL and, since I have some experience with it, would probably be using that for databasing. I still have yet to learn how they interact exactly, but I'm sure that's down the road. What advice would you give me for doing a project like this? I'm anticipating a couple of years worth of development just to even get something up and running. I'm an employed graphic designer who freelances doing 3d models for game studios around the world. I would be happy to create professional graphics or models for folks helping me with coding. :)
Advertisement
Quote:Original post by ExtraNoise
I know an MMO is a fairly large-scale project. Is this something Python can handle?

Yes.
Quote:Original post by SiCrane
I know an MMO is a fairly large-scale project. Is this something Python can handle?

Yes.

lol, awesome. That really makes me feel better, at least with its robustness as a language. :)

Edit: Would using a 3rd-party program to write a simple side-scrolling game that I can then modify be a good idea? And if so, does anyone have any suggestions?

[Edited by - ExtraNoise on March 6, 2008 2:52:33 PM]
I've been thinking about the characters and I'm debating, since I'm planning for a 2D side-scroller, whether to use (old school) pixel sprites animated together or to use 3D characters overlayed on top of a pre-rendered 2D map.