using dlls *solved

Started by
8 comments, last by mystb 16 years ago
ive just started dividing my project into static libraries and dlls... im new to it im a bit unsure how one would go about when deciding what to put as a static library and what to put as an DLL... right now ive got it something like this... Static library: Application (windows window creatin, message handling etc...) Static library: Engine (3d engine specific stuff) Static library: Graphics API interfaces Dynamic library: Direct3D implementation (since i want to be able to easily change api) is this the way its meant to be used? im creating the libraries as described here http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms235627(VS.80).aspx http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms235636(VS.80).aspx the second thing is that the way its explained in the links above... i dont have any use of the "Graphics API" interfaces (the Direct3D implementation is based on those interfaces)... the reason i want to use these interfaces is soo that i can simply switch which dll to link to the project and the appropriate function will be loaded from the selected dll... and change api.. atleast thats the idea... just to make it clear.. what i want to achieve is a simple way to change from one graphics api to another... without having to change any(or much) code [Edited by - Dragon_Strike on April 2, 2008 9:24:08 AM]
Advertisement
well, you don't need any dll to do that (you'll need it if you don't want to recompile the main program).

What you really want is to add a layer between the graphics api and your application. When you want to change graphics api, you just need to redo the layer.

But if you're strugling with these concepts, if I were you, I wouldn't worry about things like this. Work your way out to make a game or two. Then you'll have enough knowledge to do this :)
ive already got a layer between them..

Game->Graphics API interface->API implementation