I'm lost! How to approach 2D? Other questions too

Started by
4 comments, last by Escobar4Life 15 years, 10 months ago
I know theres not exact size and all but I would like to have an idea so I can start making the graphics. My goal is to create a 2D game at 1080p resolution (1280 x 1080). I don't have an idea what the sizes are going to be for buildings, characters, etc. I think it would be easier if I draw a map/tile and put them all together. Now that I thought about it, it makes sense. But to be honest I don't know how to approach the graphics at all at any resolution. That's something I need to learn. But don't know where I can learn about this. I want to make my graphics to look like sprites or very detailed like the upcoming HD remake of Street Fighter II. Obviously I can't make those kinds of graphics because I'm not an artist. I'm just talking about the quality. They are so vivid and sharp. I think I'm making this harder than it is for some reason but I'm not sure at the moment. The other visual style I want to approach is a top-down perspective. But again, I don't know the size or anything. Not sure if that's with the programming or the art. And one more thing, is it possible to scale the game down to lower resolutions? For example, 720p and 480p without many visual changes? I care about the audience and know everyone uses different displays. Hell, I may want to scale down to 1080p if I design my game on the most common resolution (which is usually higher than 'HD' resolutions). Maybe theres a book that talks about all this? I apologize for asking too many questions. I feed kind of terrible. [Edited by - Escobar4Life on June 24, 2008 4:43:07 PM]
Advertisement
Quote:Original post by Escobar4Life
I know theres not exact size and all but I would like to have an idea so I can start making the graphics. My goal is to create a 2D game at 1080p resolution (1280 x 1080).

What?

HD is 1920×1080 or 1280×720