GPL & IPC

Started by
1 comment, last by SimonForsman 15 years, 8 months ago
A friend suggested to me the following scheme: A server program, linked to a GPL library (and thus GPL itself), which is used by a closed-source client application (on the same machine), which communicates with the server program using some form of IPC (probably sockets or pipes). The sole purpose of the server is to provide services to the client, although it may of course be used by other clients. As far as I am aware, this doesn't break the letter of the GPL, but it does go against the spirit. The GPL defines derivative works in terms of linking, and I don't think that the wording of that section could be construed to cover IPC - though obviously I am not a lawyer. Would you tend to agree that this is legally allowed (despite the questionable morality)?

Tristam MacDonald. Ex-BigTech Software Engineer. Future farmer. [https://trist.am]

Advertisement
This is purely academic.

Short answer: You won't know for sure unless you're sued for it.

Long answer: There is a lot of debate in the legal community with relation to what constitutes a derivative work under GPL, and whether the use of the term is unintentionally broad in a way that makes the license viral. This is partly because the term "derivative work" is left intentionally vague under copyright law. However, to the best of my knowledge the LGPL is less vague in that only the library itself is protected under the LGPL. If you use the library you have to reproduce the license for the library itself (and if I remember correctly, modification is constricted with libraries under LGPL). You don't have to make the rest of your proprietary code/program LGPL. If it's an actual GPL, it's a little trickier-- it comes down to how substantially your code relies on it. So refer to the short answer-- you won't know unless you're sued for it.