Game Program Projection Format: Help needed with development plans

Started by
6 comments, last by programmermattc 15 years, 8 months ago
Hi again So, I finally brokedown and realized part of the problem with how I'd been approaching designing a game: I had been thinking from specific design and trying to generalize, instead of coming up with general ideas and plans and then getting more and more detailed from there. So that is what I've done. Here is a quick doc I started drawing-up, detailing the rough conceptual outline of what pieces/plans go in to programming a game. I am posting it here for critiques, suggestions, additions, etc... If there's something you think I've missed, by all means let me know or go ahead and add it yourself. If something's in the wrong place or wrong order, let me know so I can fix it. I'm just trying to get a grasp on the whole format and planning of programming a game, seeing as how monumental a task it is. Here goes. Start Program Initialize Main Menu – Call On Menu Database Begin Windows Layout Programming Display Window and UI Initialize Button-specific Scripts Initialize Sound – Call On Sound Database Start Running Sound Activate Menu Sound Call On Sound Database Active Trigger List Display World Draw World – Call On Graphics Database Activate Graphics Data Display Window Graphics Call On Graphics Database Render World LOD Begin World Render Scripts Initialize Physics – Call On Physics Rules Database Activate Physics Program(s) Activate Constant Physics Scripts Assign Global Physics Controls Call On Physics Database Initialize Player Controls – Call On Controls Database Activate Input Control Scheme Activate Control Trigger Database Call On Model Control Script Database Initialize UI – Call On UI and Art Database Draw UI Graphics Initialize UI Triggers Initialize UI Control Scheme Initialize Button-Specific Scripts Initialize Rules Start Story Scripts – Call On Script Database Access Story Script Database Activate Quest Start Data