MP3s in C++ **SOLVED**

Started by
18 comments, last by zyrolasting 15 years, 5 months ago
Quote:Original post by Evil Steve
... As far as I know (Although I may be wrong), there's no open source or free MP3 decoders available, since MP3 has licensing restrictions on it...

I though of LAME right away, but it is an encoder, not sure if it does decode as well behind the scenes.

There must be something as MP3 files are playable on Linux, no money involved, either way, I'd stick with ogg, vorbis and openal just to avoid any mp3 licensing costs.

Advertisement
Quote:

I though of LAME right away, but it is an encoder, not sure if it does decode as well behind the scenes.

There must be something as MP3 files are playable on Linux, no money involved, either way, I'd stick with ogg, vorbis and openal just to avoid any mp3 licensing costs.

Links noted and bookmarked. Thanks.

However, I think I should stress again that my goal is to program all this myself.
(I know I'm still an novice, I'm just setting a long-term here)
Should I finish a project, however small it might be, I do not want licensing issues on my back, since I'm horrible at the subject and have enough to concern my projects with as is.

While I use libraries like FMOD or LAME to be able to hear BGM while under development, what should I be required to know to be able to program sound playback myself, down to encoding? Again, I know NOTHING of the subject. It's important for me to know, but I do not know a starting point. Primarily, I'm looking for a tutorial. All I found were above my league, and I don't know what topic is the base ground.
I'm also using Vorbis in my C++ projects. There's at least one audio library, Audiere, that I know is free to use (even in commercial projects), includes full source code, is portable to linux as well and does contain an MP3 decoder as well as Vorbis, Flac and Speex decoders.