Music Composition

Started by
2 comments, last by Progames25 15 years, 4 months ago
Hello, I am trying to make my own game music for my games, I use Fl Studio and have some nice realistic insturment soundfonts. Problem is, everytime I try to make something I cant think of something that would sound good. My main question here is whats the best way to make a theme song for a game? I also have a second question, what's a good way to make up your own sound effects, such as rain (that sounds real), or something aroudn that style of sound effects, general environment? I tried recording real rain a few times but it turned out really bad and to choppy. Thanks, Progames25
-----------------------------I use C++ and DirectX.I'm new to game programming.
Advertisement
Listen, Listen, Listen and more Listening....

That is one of the best ways to learn. Really pay attention to what other people are doing in creating their thematic material and then pretty soon you will see a trend in each one. Not that they are all the same, but that some elements and tricks tend to be used a lot.

The hardest part is listening to stuff you may not like, but if you force yourself to find the good in it, you can then have another color on your palette to work with.

There is some music I dont like really, and some composers that I think may be not that great, BUT, they still have managed to pull something out of thin air and create a feeling and sound. So, in this way I must tip my hat to all.

No theme is bad, although one might work better than another.

The real big one though is to keep writing and practicing. I am sure that every composer out there, myself included, can recall a time when everything just "worked" right away. But, I am sure they have also had those times where they sit and stare and for some reason, things just dont tend to be a very pleasant process. Either way, they still write and create and eventually find what they wanted.

best of luck

steve