music composition details

Started by
1 comment, last by AudioUnity 15 years, 5 months ago
Hi All, Great forum, lots of info. I am am in the process of setting up a video game music offering. I have a few very basic questions: 1. What audio format do gamers expect to use with their games (mp3, wav etc)? 2. Are there any guidelines for general composition or loop time lengths (1 minute??)? 3. What kind of money can and should you charge (general versus custom pieces)? 4. Is it realistic to make money in this area? I am a competent musician and feel my music is pretty good (always room for improvement). 5. What do successful folks use for hosting and download capabilities? I know lots of basic questions. Any information is really appreciated. Thanks, Rick
www.audiounity.com
Advertisement
Quote:Original post by AudioUnity
Hi All,

Great forum, lots of info. I am am in the process of setting up a video game music offering.

Cool! Welcome. Hopefully we can all help out.

1. What audio format do gamers expect to use with their games (mp3, wav etc)?

Depends on the tech they're using. Many of the middle ware audio engines will support a wide variety of formats. Another consideration: how much storage will you have? Games on mobile phones or the Nintendo DS use a tiny amount of space. Certain audio formats (or even banking systems) might be a requirement.

2. Are there any guidelines for general composition or loop time lengths (1 minute??)?

Generally it depends on the client and the budget. I try to make my loops longer than 1 minute because it can get so repetitive. Also consider what area or function your music will be used for. The music for a menu screen can typically be shorter than a full level.

3. What kind of money can and should you charge (general versus custom pieces)?