Static methods good alternative to global functions?

Started by
8 comments, last by Guthur 15 years, 3 months ago
I know it's considered bad to have a lot of global data and functions in large projects. I'm not very experienced, but I've already found a few places where they're inconvenient. Lately, instead of making a particular object global because I need access to it elsewhere, I've made select methods in it static. For example, my Renderer class has a method that converts game-logic coordinates to screen coordinates, and this needs to be called from all over. Where once I would have made a global Renderer object, now convertCoords() is static, and I can make a call Renderer::convertCoords() anywhere I like. Is this considered a good solution? I find it kind of messy and inelegant — something about making methods static just because they need to be accessed from outside the class bothers me — but I'm hoping it's better than having a lot of global objects.
Advertisement
I'd consider something like that to be just fine. There are times when helper functions are needed, and creating an object would make no sense. Personally though, I don't know if you should make it a static method part of a class, or a regular global method wrapped in a namespace. Syntacticly it's the same thing, so use your judgment and do what makes sense.
[size=2][ I was ninja'd 71 times before I stopped counting a long time ago ] [ f.k.a. MikeTacular ] [ My Blog ] [ SWFer: Gaplessly looped MP3s in your Flash games ]
It's not considered bad to have a lot of global data and functions. It's considered bad to have a lot of globally mutable state. Constant data is pretty good. Free functions are good in certain languages and good in moderation in others.

For this case, MikeTacular is right.
Quote:Original post by Sol Blue
something about making methods static just because they need to be accessed from outside the class bothers me