D3DERR_INVALIDCALL when creating texture

Started by
15 comments, last by Evil Steve 14 years, 12 months ago
Can the mesh viewer in the SDK open your .X file?
What's changed in your program since the last version?
Advertisement
Yes DXViewer can open my mesh with textures and everything. All I've changed is that I've added HLSL and removed the SetRenderState functions and changed SetTransform to the effect's SetMatrix function.

I've never used the debug function in VS2008 before so now I noticed I get:

Direct3D9: (WARN) :Ignoring redundant SetSamplerState Sampler: 0, State: 29
And it's a lot more numbers than 29. I've searched and found some that say it's because I don't use a "pure" device (which I don't know what that is). Does it decrease the performance of the program?

Also, I get some error each time I shut down the program:

Debug Assertion Failed!
_BLOCK_TYPE_IS_VALID(pHead->nBlockUse)

and then the debug says:

Direct3D9: (ERROR) :GetClientRect Failed ?
Direct3D9: (ERROR) :BitBlt or StretchBlt failed in Present

Since other meshes (which has textures) is being rendered in my program I am pretty sure I've somehow messed something up (even though the mesh + textures that don't work are in the same folder + DXViewer can render it without any problem) so I guess I'd better fix these other problems.

EDIT: My Present function looks like this:
pD3DDev->Present(0, 0, 0, 0);

Which has been left unchanged for ages.
Quote:Original post by Hannesnisula
I've never used the debug function in VS2008 before so now I noticed I get:

Direct3D9: (WARN) :Ignoring redundant SetSamplerState Sampler: 0, State: 29
And it's a lot more numbers than 29. I've searched and found some that say it's because I don't use a "pure" device (which I don't know what that is). Does it decrease the performance of the program?