New to Programming. Need a first step.

Started by
3 comments, last by Landshark 14 years, 8 months ago
I have no background in programming whatsoever. I recently had a very long conversation with someone who does. The idea of creating games had always appealed to me but I always assumed I wouldn't be capable. After this conversation I feel that I might have a chance if I approach the whole field with some maturity and discipline. Money is a very serious object at the moment so I can't afford any books. The question I'm about to ask is probably too vague, but I simply don't know enough to clarify it better. What would be the best way to start? Is there a particular language or set of languages or general computer science topics I should deal with first? And are there any good online resources for delving into these things for free?
Advertisement
Before starting to learn how to program games you need to learn how to program, and this is not much related to wich language you choose. Usually the suggested languages are Java, C# and Python for beginners. My personal preference goes to C# because it is really easy to set up (once you have Visual Studio Express edition installed) and already provides support for DX. Python is nice, but since Java and C# share most of the same syntax as C++, learning one of these will make easier to switch to C++ should you want to go with it (wich is the standard de facto for most AAA applications, though very hard to master).

If you want to start, get Visual Studio and follow the online help. For Java get NetBeans or Eclipse (or do it straight from Notepad + Java SDK) and get Thinking in Java for free.

Best thing to do is grab a free compiler from microsoft http://www.microsoft.com/express/ and start learning a language

It will take some time to learn to "think" in code. Start simple with projects like "print all the numbers from 1-100 to the screen";

then try doing things like, print all the prime numbers from 1-100 to the screen.