Tic Tac Toe(AS3.0)

Started by
7 comments, last by Aezon 14 years, 7 months ago
I have a bit of a problem, I made a basic Tic Tac Toe engine, and I have a bit of a problem cleaning up after a game is over. Basically, Once the board is full, or if there is three in a row, it calls this method: function clearDisplayGrid(emptySpaces:int = 0):void{ //max is the number of actual pieces on the board. var max:int = 9-emptySpaces; for(var ind:int = 1;ind<=max;ind++){ this.removeChildAt(ind); } } I have run it through the Flash debugger, and still haven't figured out why it doesn't remove any of the display objects. Please help me. The rest of the program is available at request. [Edited by - Aezon on September 9, 2009 6:45:15 PM]
-----------------------Are you breaking into the world of game development, and are finding yourself lost?I am also a beginner, whose here to get lost-and find his way back-for you. Check out my blog You will(hopefully) learn bunches, alongside me.*Last update: 1/1/10*New Theme!
Advertisement
Some things to consider:

1) Are you sure the board doesn't have any "children" other than the pieces? (Possibly including things you didn't explicitly create yourself? What type is it?)

2) Why do you pass 'emptySpaces' as a parameter? Doesn't the board already "know" how many spaces are empty?

3) As in most languages, AS3 array indices start at 0, not 1. (Or is this because of your answer to (1)? ;) )

4) Suppose you remove a child successfully. Any children after that element will get re-numbered, right? Think about the effect that has on your logic.
hold all movieclips in array and while adding them to scene (addChild) like

mcArray.push(newmc);
this.addChild(newmc);

when game is over you can say

for(var i=0; i<mcArray.length; i++){
this.removeChild(mcArray);
}

after that set mcArray to undefined and hope that garbage collector will deal with it.