The idea of a one page resume

Started by
16 comments, last by Tom Sloper 14 years, 6 months ago
Here's my take on this subject, which is from the hiring side of things, not from the applicants side of things...

I'm a solutions architect consultant, which means that usually when I'm called in it is to lead or assist a team in designing and developing software solutions for large business problems. Usually there will be a team in place, but throughout the development cycle of the software required new people will be needed to be hired, and fired. That means that I usually end up in some position where I'm reviewing new applicants for positions within the team. This advise though applies to pretty much any job, except perhaps designer positions.

So a few things about your resume and what I'll look for when I have a stack of five hundred or more resumes sitting on my desk for a job position: Now, I'm certainly not going to read through all five hundred resumes, that would be a waste of time since most of them are probably not worth the paper they are printed on. That means I need a way to quickly eliminate the majority of them and reduce it down to a small core set that I can then actually focus my attention on. Now, some might point out that any process of elimination that's fairly rapid will probably eliminate potential candidates too, and they would be correct.