Hey Everyone!

Started by
5 comments, last by zer0wolf 14 years, 5 months ago
Hey! Im a University student currently doing a Bach of Design and Innovation and majoring in Digital Media. I plan to go into level or game design for a future career. I was wondering if someone could point me in the right direction for some 3d map software I could use to start creating a map for future portfolio purposes. Would UT editor be the place to go or not? I think ill be hanging around these forums for a few more years to come now Thanks! :)
--Frenchy--
Advertisement
with maps do you mean the terrain(moantians,hills etc)? or the complete 3D scene with buildings trees objects etc etc. Either way i wont go with Unreal editor unless you want to specificaly get a job using it (which is valid since alot of studios use the UD Engine) but then again if you can model you can model so switching to new but similiar software is usualy not a problem.

For creating 3D models the 3 options generaly are blender,3ds max and maye.
they are all on the same level but blender is free so its a good idea to start with it. Using one of these three solutions you can model anything including the terrains although you should have a look at procedural terrain generation tools like Terragen to create youre terrains with. procedural terrain generators can create extremely realistic terrains but in some cases it might be abit to random and you might want to scalp the terrain yourself using a model editor like blender.
Ok cool, yeah I have used both 3ds Max and Maya before and I own them so i might give that a go. I was thinking of making a complete map along with buildings and textures and objects.
--Frenchy--