Drawing a sphere using SlimDx

Started by
5 comments, last by ShahzadAli 12 years, 4 months ago
Hi All, I am new to graphics and slimdx in general. I want to draw a sphere of a given radius. void DrawSphere(float radius, Device device) { ... } I was using the opengl examples(below) but am not sure how to convert it to SlimDX. Thanks void drawSphere(double r, int lats, int longs) { 7 int i, j; 8 for(i = 0; i <= lats; i++) { 9 double lat0 = M_PI * (-0.5 + (double) (i - 1) / lats); 10 double z0 = sin(lat0); 11 double zr0 = cos(lat0); 12 double lat1 = M_PI * (-0.5 + (double) i / lats); 13 double z1 = sin(lat1); 14 double zr1 = cos(lat1); 15 glBegin(GL_QUAD_STRIP); 16 for(j = 0; j <= longs; j++) { 17 double lng = 2 * M_PI * (double) (j - 1) / longs; 18 double x = cos(lng); 19 double y = sin(lng); 20 glNormal3f(x * zr0, y * zr0, z0); 21 glVertex3f(x * zr0, y * zr0, z0); 22 glNormal3f(x * zr1, y * zr1, z1); 23 glVertex3f(x * zr1, y * zr1, z1); 24 } 25 glEnd(); 26 } 27 }
Advertisement
If you're using Direct3D 9, the easiest way is probably just to use Mesh.CreateSphere.
SlimDX | Ventspace Blog | Twitter | Diverse teams make better games. I am currently hiring capable C++ engine developers in Baltimore, MD.
Thanks for the quick reply...

so I should do something like this

void Render()
{
RenderSphere(device, radius);
}

void RenderSphere(Device device, int r)
{
Mesh.CreateSphere(device, r, 100,100);
}

Is that all. Coz I am not seeing the sphere....
Hi
An update

I am doing this

private void RenderLightSphere(Device device)
{
Mesh msh = Mesh.CreateSphere(device, 1, 5, 5);
device.SetStreamSource(0, msh.VertexBuffer, 0, 16);
device.DrawPrimitives(PrimitiveType.TriangleStrip, 0, msh.VertexCount);
}

I can see a bunch of triangles on the screen but no sphere. Obviously I am not using the correct primitive type.
Please advise.

Thanks
Firstly, don't create the Mesh each frame, that is going to have MAJOR performance implications.