PC game servers

Started by
7 comments, last by OldProgie2 14 years, 1 month ago
Hello, I was wondering what options I would have for creating a multiplayer game in terms of servers. If I make a "Game for Windows" would Windows supply all of the hosting or would I have to own, run, and maintain my own server for the games that I create? (Also, how hard would it be to make a game for Windows [approval process]?) Are there any alternatives to this? Steam for example? I am a Flash developer, and PC game dev is pretty foreign to me. Any suggestions are helpful.
Advertisement
anyone can create games for windows without resitrictions. as for the certificate:
http://www.microsoft.com/games/en-us/aboutgfw/pages/forpublishers.aspx
You do everything yourself. MS will host servers for you but they offer that as a service for which you pay dollars. I do not believe Valve offers a server hosting service. At any rate this is something you will have to pay for

"Games for Windows" is a branding thing for which you need to apply:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Games_for_Windows

Your best bet is probably to just make a game that runs on windows. You don't need any certification or anything; just make game -> publish game. publishing is it's own mini-game. To get on Steam or any online download service you have to basically apply; this is very hard to do if you aren't an already published developer.

Just make your game.

-me
Ok, is there a "best option" for server hosting for PC games?

In Flash there are servers (red5) that basically do most of the server work for you, is there anything like that for PC? or do you pretty much have to write everything from scratch?