Best time for job change

Started by
14 comments, last by Tom Sloper 14 years, 1 month ago
Quote:Original post by zizigy
@ Tom Sloper

There's nothing particularly wrong with the company itself: what I don't like is the kind of tasks I am assigned (mostly writing unit tests for the internal toolchain and fixing the simpler bugs I encounter while doing so); while the company made it very clear this is what I was getting into (this is more or less exactly what I was told I would have been doing during my interview) and I accepted the job knowingly, it does feel very dry and not really related to games at all.
All of this just got me thinking: if I have to have a job that doesn't feel connected to games in any way, why am I even working in the game industry, with working conditions and salaries being better in other fields?

Dude, I would kill for that job. And I'm a senior applications developer with just shy of ten years' professional experience. You've got your foot in the door. You should be trying to get the rest of you in that door rather than looking for a new one; You'll probably find that they're already shut. Play your cards right and don't go screwing this one up!
Advertisement
Quote:Original post by ForestMaster
I have a related question, so I think it's better if I avoid a new topic:

daniele

I disagree. Please start a new thread for this question, Daniele.

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

Despite what other people are saying zizigy, if you got a job in game development working on tools and you really aren't enjoying it, it's perfectly fine to look for another job doing something you enjoy more.

There is nothing wrong with looking for a job you might enjoy better, even though you said yes to the tools job.

Loyalty isn't a huge thing either cause honestly, they would lay you off at the drop of a hat if it was in their interest to do so.

You gotta look out for #1 and go after what makes you happy in life.