level editor quad-view control? (C#)

Started by
5 comments, last by Acid-Chris 13 years, 10 months ago
I'm writing a level editor in C# for a game my team is working on and I want to know how the typical quad-view control is implemented in commercial editors such as 3DSMax and other high-profile modelling / level editing packages.

At the moment I'm using the three SplitContainer approach, with two vertical containers nested inside the panels of a parent container. This works, however resizing the bottom two panels horizontally does not affect the top two panels. I'm very new to C#, and I imagine I can write some code to automatically resize the top two panels when the bottom ones are resized, but this feels a bit clunky.

I would have thought that by now Microsoft would have a generic control which implements the behaviour I'm looking for, as it seems to be fairly common.

Any suggestions?
Advertisement
There is no equivalent control in the .net framework "out of the box". The need for such a control is, as far as I see, somewhat limited to 3D modeling apps. In addition, other modeling packages such as Blender implement viewport splitting as an equivalent of a binary tree so as to allow arbitrary splits (but no synchronization between different sides of a split, like MAX).

However, if you understand how the one-way splitter works, it is relatively easy to create a splitter that works in two directions like the viewports in MAX.

The one-way split is implemented conceptually as follows:

• There are two containers, one for both sides of the splitter
  • There is an area of greater than zero width between the containers, the split line
  • When the user grabs the split line, the mouse is captured and the drag start point is stored
  • While the user drags the split line, the containers on both sides are resized and the split line moved according to the difference of the current point and the drag start point