So, std::vector is...??

Started by
26 comments, last by XTAL256 13 years, 9 months ago
What is this, exactly? How is it coded internally (seeing as how Microsoft likes to wrap everything into a DLL or LIB...)? How is it used? Why is it needed? Why is it called a vector? I'm assuming that it does not have coordinates somewhere in the class? **Insert any other questions I'm forgetting to ask...**

I started programming 25 years ago when I was 8 years old. I first heard about this thing a month or two ago. It seems to have taken the programming world by storm, so I'd like to know as many details as possible.

No, I am not a professional programmer. I'm just a hobbyist having fun...

Advertisement
Quote:What is this, exactly?
A vector is a dynamically sized array that grows with the number of elements you insert into it, and is built to behave as close to a raw array as possible.

Quote:How is it coded internally?
Templates. Because the STL containers are coded as templates, they themselves cannot be ported to a lib or dll. However, specific instantiations of these containers, such as ostream<char, type_traits<char>> for cout, clog, and cerr have been moved to the Visual Studio's C-runtime library.

Quote:How is it used?
C++ Reference on vector for samples and usage.

Quote:Why is it needed?
It is needed because programmers find themselves needing an array whose size is unknown or whose size is not known at compile time.
std::vector is not made by microsoft. It is part of the standard of C++ I believe found in the Standard Template Library and you are most likely to find it in the includes of your compiler. The vector is a sizable container. It is similar in works to a dynamic array class that provides an interface to add, subtract, and change it's objects.