Database + Interface

Started by
4 comments, last by Kylotan 13 years, 9 months ago
I need to store a bunch of different enemies with DnD-esque stats. (e.g. initiative, abilitie scores, items, powers) For that I'm guessing I should use a database. I also need a GUI through which to display and modify this database, nothing fancy, just a window with text boxes and drop-down menus.

I'm not sure what I should be using to accomplish this, though. I was figuring C# for the GUI. What about SQL for the database? I've never worked with any database languages before. What stuff do you guys suggest I use?
--------------------Configuration: error maker - Win32 Debug--------------------Compiling...error maker.cppLinking...error maker.exe - 1 error(s), 0 warning(s)
Advertisement
I heard good things about SQLite and I used it in a small tool app of my own (written in C++) with no problems. There's even a C# wrapper here. Might be worth a look.
So...is the game data being stored on a server somewhere, and clients must connect over the internet to get gamedata?
For just data look up, using HTML + PHP + mySQL would work. There are plenty of free hosts that give you mySQL and room for a database.
It sounds like what you need is a generic application to do CRUD operations. Before that, though, you'll want to choose a database.

A variant of SQL is often the choice for (MMO) game data storage, although there are others. My vote would go to Microsoft's SQL Server; there is a free version called SQL Express that imposes a few limits, but they are manageable, especially if you start drawing an income from your game so you can upgrade to enterprise edition. You can use SQL Server's management studio for a CRUD client, though I'm sure there are better ones out there.