Equally spaced samples on a quadratic Bezier

Started by
5 comments, last by nexekho 13 years, 8 months ago
I am writing a F-Zero/Wipeout clone. Generating my track from Bezier patches seems to be working really well; it's nice and easy to edit allowing for easy adjustment and the physics so far for travelling along the patches work perfectly.

A loop and some turns generated via quadratic Bezier curve patches.

With one minor detail; unless the distance between the start and control point and the end point and the control point are identical, the patches are no longer linear. The generated polygons that represent them tend to bunch up at one end and whilst travelling along the patch, the vehicle visible slows down and speeds up regardless of the true speed it should be going at.

The problem.  Non-linear samples.

I don't know much about 3D math; I never took A-level and I'm largely self-taught. Is there any way to get a equally spaced sample regardless of the difference in distance between start/end and control points or am I going to have to throw ease of use and flexibility out of the window and force the distance to be the same by normalising the difference and then multiplying by the mean average distance to place the point equidistant but not where the track designer put it?
Advertisement
It's been a little bit since the last time i worked w/ bezier curves but the last time i did anything with them i remember i was getting evenly spaced samples and i had to make code that only kept the ones that mattered (ie throw points away if they don't significantly change the line at that point).

How are you generating your curve points? Can you show some code or outline your algorithm?

(: