My online game idea....

Started by
6 comments, last by donkey breath 13 years, 2 months ago
I am working on an online game. There's no animation, no sounds, free to play, and can win cash for playing. it's no kind of gambling or bingo or spinning a wheel or anything.... I feel like I'm giving you a riddle, but I just don't want to give to much information about exactly what it is yet.

That leads directly to my question. I pretty much have everything already figured out. (Rules, Game play, Documentation, Disclaimers, etc...)

How do I find the right person that can make this idea a reality? I'm afraid of talking to the wrong person and the idea being stolen. Is there any way I can protect myself from this? This could really make a lot of money and I have a feeling it will become quite viral.

I have some knowledge of programming (C++ and VB), but this game will be hugely reliant on databases, Tracking stats in real time based on user activity and "payments" (not real payments) to other players. (which I don't feel comfortable delving in to) Any help would be appreciated. If you can't help, perhaps you could point me in the right direction.

My goal here is to find someone that can code this thing, come in as a permanent partner and collect dividends for as long as it lasts. I plan on taking the legal route and having all documents in place.

Thank you so much for your time.
Advertisement
Talk to a lawyer to get the right documents in place to protect your idea.

Steven Yau
[Blog] [Portfolio]

Also to define precisely which jurisdictions agree that it is not gambling and why, which jurisdictions are no way going to agree with you on that point and how to exclude players from such jurisdictions and so on.

If people are coming away with money, either they are being paid for something or there is a contest of some kind going on (and laws about contests can be just as complicated awkward inconvenient and arbitrary as laws about gambling) or gambling is happening.