My Bachelor Thesis "Software Renderer Accelerated by CUDA Technology"

Started by
8 comments, last by maxest 11 years, 10 months ago
Hey guys,

A few days back I finished my bachelor thesis and a project that accompanies the thesis. Shortly speaking, my project was about implementing a selected subset of OpenGL/Direct3D fuctionality and see how much it can be speed up with CUDA. If you're interested, want to share opinions, etc., here's the www-site of the project: http://maxest.gct-game.net/vainmoinen/index.html
Note that I have put a lot of effort to explain in details the vertex and pixel processing phases, including software implementation of texture mapping with bilinear filtering and mip-mapping. I hope someone will ever learn something from this :)
Advertisement
Congrats! Feels nice to get that out of the way, huh?
Latest project: Sideways Racing on the iPad
Yeah, definitely :). I have been using OpenGL and Direct3D for a few years and I never knew how they actually work internally. Now I finally do :)
I miss the good old software renderer days :(

/nostalgia
Right. Today everything (in real-time graphics) goes around OpenGL/Direct3D and shaders. Sometimes I wish I had been born maybe 10 years earlier so I could start my graphics adventure with software graphics, when the whole graphics industry was emerging :).
Congrats on getting that out of the way. Definitely feels nice to have that off your shoulders, doesn't it?