Basic HDR Questions

Started by
0 comments, last by MJP 13 years, 1 month ago
Hi ,

As I am new to HDR rendering , the questions I would like to ask :

1. How I define it is HDR rendering or Tonemap operation is basically `scaling`
in order to reflect a greater contrast ratio to current scene. Is that understanding
correct ?

2. Regarding HDR Cubemap sample of DX SDK , as I looked into its shader to see HDR lighting,
it does not use tonemap but , it does multiply calculated diffuse/lambetian light/pixel color value
with the parameter ( so called light intensity ) so as I can understand for simplest HDR rendering
linearly multiplying pixel values with appropriate numbers is enough ?

3. What about using Phong lighting model along with HDR R ? I guess it is theoretically ok
but in all HDR samples I have seen , it is always diffuse lighting

4. In some games like Call of Juarez : Bound in Blood , when you enter to an area heavily under sun light
firstly the scene is too bright so you can`t clearly see everything , then it becomes ok
Is this the bloom effect ?

thanks a lot
Advertisement