Deciding on a Game Engine

Started by
7 comments, last by Retsam 13 years, 1 month ago
I'm considering starting a project, but before I do, I want to figure out what engine I would use to make it.
My background, I'm a Computer Science major, so I've got a good programming background, but little experience programming graphics. I've had limited experiences in game design and programming.

Right now I'm interested in possibly trying to make an RPG. I'm currently brainstorming and documenting the project, and as that progresses, I'm trying to work out the concrete details. This obviously leads me to the question of a game engine.

The first question is "I do want a game engine, right?" I mean, I'm a decent programmer, but knowing nothing of OpenGL or DirectX and not having much success learning in the past, I'd rather not tackle that right now, which leaves me looking for a game engine of some sort. But, on the other hand, I do want to be doing quite a bit of the coding, not using a tool that takes the coding out of the project.

As for language, I'm most comfortable in Java, so that's my ideal choice, but I also know C++, Objective-C, and Python, so I could do one of those as well, (and I'm not even that opposed to learning a new language; I usually pick programming languages up pretty quickly).

And, the game is going to be 2D (or possibly isometric). I want to mess with graphics as little as possible, so I don't want 3D, and for most RPGs, 3D is unnecessary. So ideally I'd like to find a tool that is aimed at making 2D.

Any direction at what I should be looking into and trying would be greatly appreciated.
Advertisement
You should check out Slick2D. It is a game library written in Java, and hardware accelerated. Because it is a library, there is plenty of programming you will need to do. It provides routines for a lot of common functionality, but how you combine that and all of your game specific logic will be up to you.