A Beginners Perspective on Being a Beginner

Started by
20 comments, last by Tom Sloper 12 years, 4 months ago
Hi. I'm new. This is my post and I hope to learn.
First off, I am a total beginner. I have no knowledge of programming and the stuff that make games work.
It's okay, I know where to look so I don't need to be directed to "what language or how to".

BUT REALLY.

I'm INTO gaming.
And as a kid, I was always hoping to build my whole future into the industry.
As I grew up, (and I'm sure as everyone was growing up), we were told that life is hard and our goals are impossible to achieve.
It's not people who tell us. WE tell ourselves that.

I mean, who would've thought making games was THAT difficult as a kid?

But I digress

I've heard that it's really hard to put one up and it isn't done alone.

So tell me GDnet.
Where does Andrechan begin?

Right. It's a matter of preference.

Okay then.
[color="#ff0000"]
I dont know what I should specialize in.
[color="#ff0000"]I don't know what's there to specialize in.
[color="#ff0000"]

Heck, a lot of question come into mind when I finally had the guts to pursue this gamedev career.
I'd like to ask a [color="#008000"]few if you don't mind.

1)Do I really need to learn programming?
I acknowledged earlier that I knew it was hard and I knew that it wasnt done alone.
(I also acknowledge that it can be done alone, but i'm talking big leagues here)
To be in full control of the game and results, do I need to learn programming and make my own engine?

>>>>that question's been asked before(i think)
-okay, here.What if I were to command a team to develop a game. Do programmers come at top tier?
(I can only imagine so, because he knows what he wants it to look. But really I can only guess coz I have no knowledge what so ever)

Coz I'm at a point where I should go and study programming.
But if I don't need to, I can pass on it.

2)Engines
I wont say much about engines. I have no idea how they work.