Any PhD's in the house?

Started by
15 comments, last by spinningcube 12 years, 4 months ago
I'm no expert in this, so I'll just say what I've heard and what has made sense.
Everything that requires individual thought, imagination, etc. Will start with your take on it.
If you are to go for some form of degree don't do the typical thing, its a complete and utter waist if you just knuckle under and work hard.
If you can use your time, experience and skill properly you can aim for a degree while achieving something great.

Get told to make a lighting engine? Strive to make a flexible material based lighting engine with indirect illumination and ambient occlusion post-processing.
Get told to make a water shader? Make a full featured water shader allowing for wave variation and control with fantastic reflections.
Get told to render an outline? Make a shader supporting gradient outlines with Fresnel effects and line variation.

Those are just rough exampled but the point is, if your going to try for a degree, don't just try to pass, this is one of the cases where it would pay off to show off.
Advertisement

how do you prove that you can do the job?

Well my idea would be to make a blog/library/portfolio of code samples that implement various techniques/algorithms etc. Maybe a small game.
I know that is definitely too much work for one persons spare time to make a complete graphics engine from the scratch.
You think that will help?

[quote name='jjd' timestamp='1323362946' post='4891833']
how do you prove that you can do the job?

Well my idea would be to make a blog/library/portfolio of code samples that implement various techniques/algorithms etc. Maybe a small game.
I know that is definitely too much work for one persons spare time to make a complete graphics engine from the scratch.
You think that will help?

[/quote]