SlimDX vb.net sample won't compile

Started by
6 comments, last by geraldft 12 years, 3 months ago
Hi - I'm new to directx wanted to try out slimdx with vb.net VS 2008 under WinXP sp3

Installed latest SlimDX for developers sept 2011
Loaded simple triangle project.

First lots of errors so added reference to slimdx. Only one slimdx available so chose that.

OK - errors disappear now try to build but get an exception error.

"Could not load file or assembly 'SlimDX, Version=2.0.7.41"

Checked in references and there are two slimdx related lines

One for sampleframework 1.0.0.0 refering to the project folder location sampleframework.dll
Second for SlimDX 2.0.12.43 in the slimdx sdk

SO - not sure why the program has this reference to ver 20741 - where does this come from? Is it the sampleframework?

So do I need to install an earlier version of the sdk?

Any help appreciated. BTW the pre-compiled exe with the tutorial does run...

Thanks
Advertisement
I'm a SlimDX noob too, but this is merely a .NET problem, which i DO know very well.

You have at least two projects: your test client project and the sampleframework from SlimDX. These both need a reference to SlimDX.dll.

Therefore, when you reference and use the sampleframework you indirectly are using things from SlimDX through the SampleFramework. It's probably there where you get conflicts with the SlimDX dll that is directly referenced in your client project.

Your project references to version A of SlimDX, while SampleFramework points to another version B.

So, I think you will have to check all references to SlimDX in ALL projects and make sure they point to physically the same dll (actually, it's the version that counts, but physical is extra safe smile.png )