Studying Games Programming

Started by
4 comments, last by L. Spiro 12 years, 2 months ago
Hello there,

I'm currently trying to find a place where I can study and become a Game Programmer. I am, however, finding it extremely hard to find schools that offer a relevant education. I'm hoping you can help me out!

It doesn't matter where the school is, I can travel and live anywhere. Courses must be held in German (mothertongue) or English (I have a Bachelor of Arts in English). I can't, however, afford expensive private schools - I have found several of these in Germany and the UK, 20-30k total is too much for me and my family.

I am not interested in general computer science programs, from what I have researched so far, it is possibly to study Games Programming without a prior degree in computer science.

I have very good knowledge of C/C++, have worked extensively with both OpenGL and Direct 3D (9). I am experienced in using libraries such as SDL, Allegro, IrrKlang, TinyXML and many more. I am able to compile a portfolio video showing a plenty of game projects and tech demos. I have written a Hybrid Renderer (Deferred and Forward Rendering), a tech demo that implements Shadow Mapping for point lights via cube mapping, a custom 3D model file format (including an exporter for 3DS Max) and plenty other stuff.

gOQya.jpg

Click to enlarge! This shot shows a number of my implementations...

My questions:

- does the program I'm looking for actually exist?
- given my experience, would I have a realistic chance of getting in?
- what else would you think would look good in a portfolio, a completed game? Working with the Unreal Dev Kit for example?

I have tried xstudy.com and various other search engines as well as just googleing, but have yet to come up with a program that fits my profile. That's why I have turned to GameDev.net, hopefully some of you know a place... smile.png

Thanks ahead of time!
Advertisement