Pixel Art Help

Started by
7 comments, last by Phyrrus52 12 years, 1 month ago
I have been messing with game design, programming, art for awhile now but I always run into a snag where I am not a good artist and can never get something worth putting up on the screen to even continue playing around with in the game development process. I understand there are a lot of sprite sheets out there, but I prefer to use my own things because I feel it helps me learn and understand things better. I am trying to start out small with 16 bit, don't wanta even try 8 bit, pixel art characters. I've found lots of tutorials and books but they all mainly cover shading and the such.

The problem I run into is I can not figure out how to transform what I see in my head, say a boar, into something even closely resembling that on paper, screen, any medium. Anyone know of any good guides, tutorials, or books that would help me with my block on ideas?
Advertisement
You need to learn it in several steps. Digital art is just an other medium for more traditional art skills like painting, drawing, sculpting etc.

I would sugguest to start with drawing on paper. You need to get a feeling for forms and lot of practise. There're several books on drawing, buy yourself a beginner book, some paper and some pens and start drawing. You need lot of practise. It is important to be able to bring the forms you've in mind to paper.

The next step would be painting, once you can pin down a form you need to learn how to paint. When painting you need to get a feel for light and shadow to give your image mood, material and depth.

Believe me, once you get some practise you will see progress, but it needs some time.