What language should I choose?

Started by
8 comments, last by levela13 11 years, 11 months ago
Hello gamedevs out there!

First of all, I have to admit that I'm totally new to game development. So please, don't eat me. rolleyes.gif

I know the basics of c# (handling files and data, structured arrays, kinda have some idea about classes and methods, but I ain't that sure about it yet.), because I had to use it on my matura exam. Well, and now, I would like to make a game. The main goal is that the game should run on the most popular platforms (Android, iOS mainly, but I'd be happy if it could be ran on web also). I've done some research, but I'm still not sure about which language I should choose.

XNA with MonoGame?
Java?
c++?

The game would be 2D, so if the engine doesn't support 3D then it's not a problem.

Thank you! happy.png
Advertisement
I think the unity game engine can be used to make stuff to all of those platforms easily (?)

I havent touched it but you might want to check it out.

o3o

Yes Unity can work across a lot of very popular platforms and the developer can choose between C# (which I would tend to recommend from personal choice), their unique flavour of JavaScript (UnityScript) or Boo.

The desktop version of Unity is free to download, so well worth a go! (http://www.unity3d.com)
Rotorz Limited (http://www.rotorz.com)

Check out our latest game Munchy Bunny!
Editor Tool: Rotorz Tile System (for Unity 3D)

Hello gamedevs out there!

First of all, I have to admit that I'm totally new to game development. So please, don't eat me. rolleyes.gif